Votes have been counted for Pride of Guernsey shortlist

Thousands of your votes have produced shortlists of three for each of the 12 categories in Pride of Guernsey 2017

THOUSANDS of your votes have been cast in this year’s Pride of Guernsey Awards and today we can reveal the 2017 shortlists for each category.
Almost 14,000 choices were selected during voting, narrowing the entries down to the top three nominees for each of the 12 awards and now leaving the judges with the difficult task of choosing the eventual winners from the 36 finalists.
The shortlisted names in the Emergency Hero of the Year Award, sponsored by Rossborough, are Channel Islands Air Search, Jennifer Lindfield and Geoff George.
For the Swoffers-sponsored Neighbour of the Year they are Bas Brehaut, Judy Horner and Anne Gallagher.
Lynn Breban, Dr Sue Wilson and Josh Ozanne are shortlisted for Carer of the Year, sponsored by Specsavers.
Finalists for Angel of the Year, sponsored by Ravenscroft, are Laura Orchard, Oncology Nurses and Fougere Ward.
Those shortlisted for Young Achiever of the Year, sponsored by Butterfield, are Maya Le Tissier, Jodie Mechem and Jessica Pearce.
For the Cimandis Foodservice-sponsored Welcome of the Year Award the finalists are Caritas Community Cafe, Robert Steen and Aaron Mahy.
Those shortlisted for the Close Finance-sponsored Overcoming Adversity Award are Vaughan Davies, Ernie Backlund-Leale and Joe Backlund-Leale.
The CI Co-operative Society Grandparent/s of the Year Award shortlisted names are Anne and Roy Le Noury, Debbie and Shaun Torode and Charlene and Kevin Carter.
Finalists for the Christies Group-sponsored Parent/s of the Year Award are Kate and Vic Groves, Nicole and Richard Bromley and Daniella Lowe.
Shortlisted for the Teacher of the Year Award, sponsored by Garenne, are Dr Liz Whelband, Laura Simpson and Jerry Thomas.
The OCS-sponsored Parish Champion Award finalists are Andrew Pouteaux, Katina Jones and Angela and Jim de Garis.
Those shortlisted in the Arts Contribution of the Year category, sponsored by Moonpig, are Tom Girard, Glenn Drake and Martin Cordall.
All the finalists will be invited to the Pride of Guernsey Awards ceremony in October featuring our guest hosts Jo and Andy Priaulx and where the winners will finally be announced and receive a £1,000 prize of their choice.
Guernsey Press deputy editor Suzanne Heneghan said: ‘It may only be our second year of the Pride of Guernsey Awards, but yet again we have received an overwhelming response from the public, who have taken the time to cast their votes for their favourite islanders.
‘It shows just how much the Pride of Guernsey is becoming the Bailiwick’s perfect place to acknowledge those heroes amongst us who make a difference every day to the lives of their family, friends and the community, or whose individual achievements can inspire us all.
‘We have some amazing finalists and we are delighted to be able to help them enjoy their time in the spotlight and to acknowledge their achievements. It promises to be a wonderful ceremony once again.’
Judging will take place early September at a special meeting at the OGH.
Awards night, at a transformed Guernsey Press headquarters and in association with Joy’s Production Services, is on Saturday 7 October.